ACOUSTIC SENSE has thrilled audiences far and wide their atmospheric and colourful music – and the orchestra is appearing just as colourful with its line-up.

Acoustic Sense was originally formed in 2003 by guitarist John Sund. Their debut CD ”New Gems” arrived in 2003. It was well received by the critics and was nominated by Danish World Awards in the “Best CD of the Year” category, 2004.

Acoustic Sense has been working with different guest musicians and on “New Gems” they had a rewarding cooperation with the Serbian accordion virtuoso, Lelo Nika – whereas their second release “Absorption” (2010) solely featured the band as a quartet. However on their third album “Reaching Out” they joined forces with the Danish bulgarian inspired a cappella choir Glas and following the band has now reformed as a quintet.

Band leader/guitarist John Sund has joined with forces with Danish/Australian cellist Adam McKenzie, who has brought a new aspect to the band as his is both equally gifted as a classical and jazz performer, Mathias Friis-Hansen – vibraphone, percussion, who also is an equally new force of energy, longtime member Morten Lundsby – contrabass and Danish/English drummer veteran Janus Templeton.

On the musical journey the group provide for its audience, one will experience everything from beautiful nordic tones, to a hypnotic rhythmic drive – from simple soulful melody-lines to dense compositional passages – from meditative atmosphere to energetic power. Here the music unfolds itself so naturally that leaves genres and categories needlessly redundant.

The members have worked with some of the finest musicians on the Danish and international jazz, crossover and world music scene, including Danish Radio Big Band, Palle Mikkelborg, Thomas Clausen, Bo Stief, Shashank Subramanyam, Kamal Sabri, Eliel Lazo, Vincent Nilsson, Copenhagen Jazz Quartet, Morten Schantz, Den 3. Vej, PACE Percussion Trio, Ekkozone and many, many more.

Extended version